Barbie Jewelry

4 May

Margaux Lange, a jewelry designer from New York (Where else?), creates astonishing pieces with “Barbie parts”.

Honestly, I love this jewels!  It’s a mix of creepy objects with nice childhood associations, Pop art and it is also made with the most fashionable doll on earth. However, I can’t avoid thinking that probably Margaux was a messed up kid to whom Barbies ruined life or something! I just can think about zombie Barbies scaring a cute little kid… Just kidding!

By the way, this artist uses only second hand dolls and accessories from donations, garage sales, thrift stores and eBay. (I know…I was also imagining her stealing Barbies from kids on the street and laughing malevolently)

    ”Often my work utilizes Barbie as an archetype to analyze all that this icon has come to symbolize. Sometimes, I aim to distance myself and critique pop culture in this way, and other times I wish to engage and participate in it. Much like my own experience with womanhood: a series of rejecting and embracing prescriptive roles and stereotypes” Margaux Lange

4 Responses to “Barbie Jewelry”

  1. jo the carrot May 4, 2011 at 11:50 am #

    Os brincos das orelhas são demasiado creepys mas no geral gostei…faz me lembrar o terror americano dos earlies 90’s! evil dead yay!
    é que gostei muito!

    • sonper May 4, 2011 at 1:33 pm #

      wow :O what a cool idea!!! I would most definitely wear some of those.
      Nice post, keep up the good work girl xxx

  2. Steffy May 4, 2011 at 1:45 pm #

    omg these are so cool i would totally wear something barbie!

    <3 steffy
    Steffys Pros and Cons

  3. The GSB May 6, 2011 at 2:21 pm #

    Ha! These are as creepy as they are creative! I was just talking to a friend about making me a pendant by casting Barbie shoes in silver. Also her mission sounds like fodder for a Master’s thesis in women’s history… love it!

Your Opinion Matters :)

